New WEEE board members

Eleven new members have been appointed to the UK’s WEEE Advisory Body, which recommends policy on regulating Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment under the WEEE Directive and UK WEEE laws.

The WEEE Directive seeks to properly re-use or recycle and dispose of electronic equipment, such as computers, so hazardous materials in them don’t enter into the waste stream.

New members whose two-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2010, are:

  • Scott Butler, general manager of ERP UK Ltd., a waste recycler.
  • Lynne Cullis, chief operating officer of The Wastepack Group.
  • Richard Davies, chief executive of Gearrs Wales Ltd., another WEEE recycler.
  • Bill Griffiths, National Recycling Manager for the waste management firm Viridor.
  • Barry Groves, director of the recycling firm Northern Compliance Ltd.
  • Andrew Hanratty, compliance director of Veolia Environmental Services PLC
  • Adrian Hawkes, director of policy at Valpak, a UK environmental solutions provider.
  • Simon Hill, commercial manager of waste management and recycling services at Wincanton.
  • Claudia Kuss-Tenzer, research and policy program manager at Waste Watch, a group promoting responsible resource and waste management.
  • Lee Marshall, senior manager of waste policy in Powys County, Wales
  • Eddie Taylor, chief executive of the Lighting Industry Trade Association.

The new board members join 10 others who are still serving.

The WEEE Directive was enacted in 2003 and places the responsibility for the cost of re-use or recycling of electrical or electronic materials on the producers of such products.