Opening Season of World’s First Fully-Electric Racing Series to begin September 2014

The inaugural season of Formula E, the world’s first fully-electric racing series, is scheduled to start in September 2014 with 10 teams consisting of 2 drivers each and will compete in 10 cities around the world.

Each team will consist of four Spar-Renault SRT-01E Formula E cars that can go from 0 km/h to 100 km/h in an approximately 3 seconds, with a maximum speed of 220 km/h. The cars feature a traction battery that supplies electric energy to the power circuit, known as Rechargeable Energy Storage System (RESS).

Read more how the racing series will promote research and development for electric vehicles.