NIST to Lead Standard Development for Critical and Emerging Technologies

The U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has detailed its plan for developing national standards applicable to critical and emerging technologies (CET).

The document, “U.S. Government National Standards Strategy for Critical and Emerging Technology,” argues that a proactive strategy for CET standards development is essential in defining and driving the markets for these advanced technologies, while also having strategic significance for U.S. competitiveness and national security considerations.

NIST’s National Standards Strategy identifies the following areas for prioritized CET standards development:

  • Communications and networking technologies
  • Semiconductor and microelectronics, including computing, memory, and storage technologies
  • Artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • Biotechnologies
  • Positioning, navigation, and timing services
  • Digital identify infrastructure and distributed ledger technologies
  • Clean energy generation and storage
  • Quantum information technologies

In addition, the National Standards Strategy lists specific CET applications that will receive special consideration:

  • Automated and connected infrastructure
  • Biobanking
  • Automated, connected, and electrified transportation
  • Critical minerals supply chains
  • Cybersecurity and privacy
  • Carbon capture, removal, utilization, and storage

According to NIST, its National Standards Strategy aligns with the United States Standards Strategy developed by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

Read the complete text of NIST’s National Standards Strategy for Critical and Emerging Technology.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.