EU Commission Updates Standards List for New ATEX Directive

The Commission of the European Union (EU) has published a list of standards that can be used to demonstrate conformity with the essential requirements of its new directive concerning equipment and protective systems intended for use in potentially explosive atmospheres.

The new directive, 2014/34/EU (also known as the ATEX Directive), applies to “machines, apparatus, fixed or mobile devices, control components and instrumentation…and detection or prevention systems which…are intended for the generation, transfer, storage, measurement, control and conversion of energy and/or the processing of material,” and “which are capable of causing an explosion through their own potential sources of ignition.”

The new ATEX Directive replaces the former Directive, , as of April 20, 2016. While there are no changes to the former Directive’s essential requirements and product evaluation procedures, the Directive’s Annexes have been modified, and manufacturers will be required to reference the new Directive in product documentation and instructions. However, certificates previously issued under the former Directive remain valid under the new Directive.

The new ATEX Directive is available here.

View the complete list of standards that can be used to demonstrate compliance with the essential requirements of the new ATEX Directive.

Photo by Iwan Gabovitch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.