EOS/ESD Association Research Grant Awarded

researchThe EOS/ESD Association is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2015 ESD Research Council (ERC) research grant.

The research team of Pasi Tamminen, Tampere University of Technology (TUT); Dr. Jeremy Smallwood, Electrostatic Solutions; Dr. Wolfgang Stadler, Intel; and Professor Leena Ukkonen from the Tampere University of Technology, Finland has been awarded the ESD Association grant for research titled “Practical current and charge measurements of CDM type discharges in Electrostatic Discharge Protected Areas (EPAs)-(AR5).”

The ERC grant is awarded each year to an academic professor or researcher who conducts exploratory work in the field of ESD. The recipient of this grant of $30,000 has been selected and funded by the 2015 ERC Funding Committee which includes Global Foundries, Cisco, and the EOS/ESD Association.  The outcome of the research advances the fundamental understanding of ESD knowledge and covers fields of ESD including device/design, materials, test methods, or factory control methods. The researchers are encouraged to publish the outcome of the work at the annual EOS/ESD Symposium before submitting it to professional journals.

Founded in 1982, the EOS/ESD Association is a not-for-profit, professional organization directed by volunteers dedicated to advancing the technology and understanding of electrostatic discharge. The Association sponsors education programs, develops ESD standards, holds an annual technical symposium, and fosters the exchange of technical information among its members and others.  Additional information may be obtained by contacting the EOS/ESD Association, Inc., 7900 Turin Rd., Bldg. 3, Rome, NY  13440-2069 USA. Phone: 315-339-6937. Email: info@esda.org. Website: www.esda.org.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.