CST University Publication Award 2015: Winners Announced

TrophiesComputer Simulation Technology AG (CST) has announced the winners of the CST University Publication Award 2015, an annual prize given to university institutes and researchers for published papers involving applications of electromagnetic simulation.

The CST University Publication Award recognizes the importance of work from university researchers and academics, and grants winners extensions and upgrades to their CST STUDIO SUITE installations.

For papers to be considered in the award, they must meet three conditions: they must be authored or co-authored by university researchers, they must have been published either in scientific journals or conference proceedings, and the numerical results must be entirely or partly obtained through simulations using CST software.

Submissions are evaluated on a number of criteria, including originality of application and theory, clarity of presentation, and the skillful use of CST software. A special award is also given for short papers, of four pages or less, to acknowledge the importance of short conference papers in promoting practical applications of simulation.

“We would like to thank all participants for sending in their contributions,” said Dr. Martin Timm, Director of Global Marketing, CST. “Selecting a winner is never easy, in particular when considering the vast range of interesting and novel areas of application as well as the outstanding quality of the contributions. This is testament to the importance of universities and their students in research, which is why we cooperate closely with academia, for example with the free CST STUDIO SUITE Student Edition.”

The following papers have been selected to receive the CST University Publication Award 2015:

  • “60-GHz Thin Broadband High-Gain LTCC Metamaterial-Mushroom Antenna Array”, Wei Liu, Zhi Ning Chen, and Xianming Qing, IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation; Volume: 62, Issue: 9, September 2014, pp 4592 – 4601 (Institute for Infocom Research, A*STAR, Singapore)
  • “A Compact Planar Printed MIMO Antenna Design”, Saber Soltani and Ross D. Murch, , IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, Volume: 63, Issue: 3, March 2015, pp 1140-1149 (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon, Hong Kong)
  • “Helical Plasmonic Nanostructures as Prototypical Chiral Near-Field Sources”; Martin Schäferling, Xinghui Yin, Nader Engheta and Harald Giessen; American Chemical Society Photonics; 2014; pp 530-537 (University of Stuttgart, Germany and The University of Pennsylvania, USA)

Short Paper Award 2015:

  • “Electromagnetic Evaluation of HTS RF Coils for Nuclear Magnetic Resonance”; T. Yamada, A. Saito, S. Oikawa, K. Koshita, M. Takahashi, H. Maeda and S. Ohshima (Yamagata University, Japan)

More information on CST’s university program and the upcoming University Publication Award 2016 can be found at the CST corporate website: www.cst.com/academia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.